Traumatized Horses

Therapy for Traumatized Horses

People, particularly soldiers, may experience PTSD (Posttraumatic Stress Disorder). Horses, too, can suffer from the disorder. Such animals may have been exposed to chronic stress, constant adrenaline, cruel treatment, poor training, and other traumatic-inspiring situations.

They can manifest their problems in poor behavior, having the fight/flight syndrome, being hyper-vigilant about the world around them, and becoming distrustful and unmanageable.

My heroine in For Ruby’s Love is a horse therapist, sometimes known for being a horse whisperer. Calhoun is a rancher who had a tragic barn fire that resulted in the loss of a couple of his horses and the traumatization of his prize-breeding mare. He had hired the services of Ruby and her father to hopefully emotionally heal the horse, but when it’s only going to be her… Well, he’s not agreeable.

For Ruby’s Love-110x165For Ruby’s Love, from Decadent Publishing. Official release date: January 20.

Pre-order now from:

Decadent Publishing

Amazon

Kobo

iBooks

Here are some interesting and helpful links it you would like to know more about horse therapy and training.

References

Harmony Horseworks: http://www.harmonyhorseworks.com/newsletters/news06-10.htm

Empowering Horses: http://empoweringhorses.blogspot.com/2010/04/healing-for-horses.html

Holistic Horse: http://holistichorse.com/health-care/traumatized-horses-can-they-be-emotionally-and-mentally-healed/

Wise Wild Horses: http://www.wisewildhorses.com/home/index.html

The Horse Whisperer Method of Horse Training: http://www.infobarrel.com/The_Horse_Whisperer_Method_of_Horse_Training

How Can We Help Horses Get Over Traumatic Experiences: http://beeandthehorse.com/2014/09/25/traumatic-experiences-horses/

Training Horses Naturally: http://www.training-horses-naturally.com/the-horse-whisperer.html

Horse Whisperer: http://www.horsewhisperer.com/tips.htm

How to Become a Horse Whisperer: http://www.wikihow.com/Become-a-%22Horse-Whisperer%22

by Starla Kaye

 

One thought on “Traumatized Horses

  1. Susan

    A friend of mine just adopted a horse that definitely needed a new home and socialization. She said her autistic son just loves him. Maybe they can help each other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *